This page has been viewed 1370 times
NARFE TFC 2015 State Convention Highlights

The following Four State Officers were elected for 2015-2017:  

 President - Phil Kraus (formerly Exec. VP); Exec. VP - Stan Sartain (formerly Pres.); Secretary (re-elected current) - Frances Pantoja; and Treasurer (re-elected current) - Wilbur Doehring.

In addition, the following Area Vice Presidents (AVP) were elected in the Area caucuses:

  John Creswell, re-elcted as South Texas AVP; Chasrles Graffam, elected as Northeast AVP; Martha Couch, elected as Southeast AVP; and Donald Crossland, re-elected as West AVP.

The 2015-17 TFC Exectutive Board was sworn in by National Secretary/Treasurer Jon Dowie.

2015-2017 Exec. Board

 From left to right: Donald Crossland, West AVP; Dr. Martha Couch, Southeast AVP; Charles Graffam, Northeast AVP; Wilbur Doehring, Treasurer; Frances Pantoja, Secretary; Stanley Sartain, Exec. VP; Phil Kraus, President; Dr. John Creswell, South AVP. Front - Jon Dowie, Nat'l Secretary/Treasurer Photo courtesy of Jerry Hatfield

Six resolutions were on the table for consideration:

 15-1 was to eliminate the nominating committee.  It passed.  15-2 was an amendment to increase the number of Area VP's from 4 to 7.  It did not pass.  Since 15-2 did not pass, the remaining 4 resolutions were no longer relevant and were, therefore, dropped

Dorothy Creswell was awarded the Noel Patterson Award as most outstanding District Representative in Texas


Dorothy Creswell Receives Noel Patterson award


















The keynote speaker was Jon Dowie, Nat'l Sec./Treas.

Keynote: Jon Dowie, National Secretary/Treasurer

















A preview of the proposed new TFC budget was distributed to everyone. It was voted on and passed the next day.

Auctions raised $1,195 for NARFE-PAC and $3,4549.80 for NARFE Alzheimer's Research.

Stan Sartain served as auctioneer, assisted by the Area Vice Presidents. Here is a birdhouse being held by John Creswell (South AVP) and Don Crossland (West AVP)


State President Stan Sartain as Auctioneer















On Wednesday there was a tour of the Mayborn Space Theater and Planetarium on the campus of Central Texas College.  On Thursday there was a tour of Ft. Hood, which included two museums, dine with the soldiers, and a tour of the Horse Cavalry facilities.


John Creswell and Tank on Fort Hood Tour





During the Fort Hood tour, John Creswell looked over some of the tanks on display by the 1st Cavalry Museum.  In the first picture he is next to an M-147 or M-148 tank like the ones he worked on in Korea in 1959.  




In the next picture Lynn Geyer decided to feed her apple to one of the mules.

Lynn Geyer takes a break on Fort Hood Tour



















 On Friday the session adjourned at 3pm.  The banquet was held that evening with a young dance group as entertainment.  The Saturday session covered carryover items as well as a combined board meeting of both the old and new board members.

More pictures from the Convention:


Delegates in session










1.- (from left to right) - Pictured are left to right Lynn Geyer, Carl Englerth, Cynthia Englerth, Bonnie Walchak, and David Walchak.  

Wise and Keller delegates to state convention


2 - Rosalyn Wise and Jane Keller;










3 - left to right David Walchak, Carl Englerth, Cynthia Englerth and Bonnie Walchak; 

4 - Marshal Richards, Region VI Vice President (Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Replubic of Panama, and Texas) addresses the convention

5 - Thursday luncheon entertainment was Dr. Mike Middleton (accordian) and Clayton Capps (Tubist).  Impromtu chicken dancers were Al Luna (2030) Fort Bend-Rosenberg) and Billie Sartain (1248 Midland-Permian Basin)

6 - Dorothy Cresswell presented a training session on new and updated features in NARFE's Online Activities Module (OAM).

7 - Geneva Howe, TFC State Service Officer, received both the State Service Officer of the Year award, and the Region VI Service Officer of the Year award.  Here she is shown receiving the Region VI award from Region VI VP Marshal Richards at right.  TFC President Stan Sartain is on the left.

8 - As 2013 winner of the Noel Patterson traveling trophy, John Creswell (right) received a permanent Noel Patterson plaque from TFC President Stan Sartain (left).

9 - Friday evening's dinner entertainment was provided by SPJST District 11 youth Beseda Dancers and Singer Amaya Rodriquez.

10 - John Creswell presents a summary of the action taken in the South Texas Area caucus